Prof. Righetti earned his Ph. D. in Organic Chemistry from the University of Pavia in 1965. He then spent 3 years as a Post. Doc. at MIT and 1 year at Harvard (Cambridge, Mass, USA). He is now Emeritus Professor at Milan’s Polytechnic.
He is in the Editorial Board of Electrophoresis, BioTechniques, Proteomics, Proteomics Clinical Applications. He has co-authored the books Righetti P.G., Stoyanov A., Zhukov M.: The Proteome revisited: Theory and Practice of the Relevant Electrophoretic Steps. Elsevier, Amsterdam, 2001; Hamdan M, Righetti P.G.: Proteomics Today, Wiley-VCH, Hoboken, 2005 and Boschetti E. Righetti P.G. Low-Abundance Proteome Discovery; State of the Art and Protocols, Elsevier, Amsterdam, 2013, pp. 1-341.
He has developed isoelectric focusing in immobilized pH gradients, multicompartment electrolyzers with isoelectric membranes, membrane-trapped enzyme reactors, temperature-programmed capillary electrophoresis, and combinatorial peptide ligand libraries for detection of the low-abundance proteome and the EVA technique for exploration of the Cultural Heritage. In the latter field, his work on manuscripts of famous authors and/or statesmen (Chekhov, Kepler, Bulgakov, Orwell, Casanova, Stalin) has won acclaims also in newspapers, magazines, TV talks, and Internet sites around the world.
On 560 articles reviewed by the ISI Web of Knowledge (Thomson Reuters) and by Mendeley Statistics, Righetti scores 26.680 citations, with an average of 47 citations/article and with an H-index of 75. During the years 2005-2013, he has received citations ranging from 1000 to 1200 per year.
He has won the CaSSS (California Separation Science Society) award (October 2006), and the Csaba Horvath Medal award, presented on April 15, 2008, by the Connecticut Separation Science Council (Yale University). In 2011, he has been nominated honorary member of the Spanish proteomics society and in 2012 he has won the prestigious Beckman award and medal granted in February at the Geneva MSB meeting. In 2014, in October, in Madrid, he has been given the HuPO award for proteomic research, and in November, in Atlanta, the American Electrophoresis Society award.